Welcome

Hello,

I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for ages, but to be honest, I think about things and then they go off the boil and time passes and I find I actually haven’t done anything I intended to do at all. But, today, I’ve decided that that has to stop because I have realised I am lucky to live an extraordinary life which enables me to meet some amazing people and on top of that, most of it happens in Cornwall (with a bit of London, Devon and Dorset thrown in).

I’ve never written a diary, despite being given umpteen of those gorgeous leather books with keys, so maybe this will become a sort of diary…….and I’ve called it “Coffee Time” because that is important to me (with cake, so much the better).

I’m also a bit worried that this is very self-indulgent, but I’m going to give it a go…so here goes…. and thank you for reading..

I’ve just arrived home after collecting a home-baked coffee and walnut cake from my Mum…. it’s for a coffee morning at St Column tomorrow with the charity, Transformation Cornwall….they do wonderful work connecting communities across the county and I’m very lucky to be hosting the morning with them at the Oasis Centre. I had said I would make a cake myself, but I am the most terrible baker… so enlisted my Mum’s help. I’m looking forward to it, but am also a bit scared that no-one will turn up and I’ll be the original Billy No Mates, anyway if that’s the case, I can eat all the cake. I’ll let you know how it goes.

(I also have to protect it from my cat, Thomas, who is partial to cake.)

It’s a busy day tomorrow, because after that I’m heading to Padstow to speak to Father Chris Malkinson about working together with his Catholic counterpart at St Petroc’s Church. I love the drive to Padstow.. it makes me feel like an extra in Doc Martin… (and I can play music, I love music.)

And then, back to Truro to do something about the rise in working farming families who are struggling and accessing support from the Royal Agricultural Benevolent Institution.

(I spent today thinking about stories for the Weekend Breakfast programmes at BBC Radio Cornwall, loads of phone calls etc and still more loads of ideas that hopefully will make for the weekend.)

Anyway, thank you for reading this,  I’m going to attempt to post it and hopefully not regret it afterwards!

(also there is a line which keeps appearing along the side of my script, so perhaps only part of my text will appear… I’m sorry, I don’t know how to sort that, so here’s hoping you can read the majority!)

Donna.😊🍰

Leave a Reply

