Agree to Disagree 

Hello,
As you may be aware, I rather like Twitter, actually I am slightly addicted to it which is a really bad thing and I keep telling myself that I will switch it off and do something more constructive.. But, unfortunately, my motto is very much…. ” always put off until tomorrow what you should be doing now”, so here I am again.

Anyway, I am concerned and a little dismayed, actually really cheesed off, with some in the Church of England and many attitudes which are held by those who profess to live out Christ’s values.

Because over the last few weeks it has been incredibly sad to see groups of people emboldened by the comments of others, becoming increasingly vitriolic and dismissive of other viewpoints. A sort of intellectual superiority is at play and with it a sweeping strength of collective feeling that will cease only when it achieves its own favoured outcome.

I’m not going to illustrate this with examples, but I’m sure that if you’re interested in the current issues of the Church you will have an idea of some of the recent areas of contention. To me, it is disappointing that arguments are played out over Twitter and I am disappointed and more than a little let down, by those who I think should know better.

I am not naive enough to believe that egos are not well and truly alive within the Church but as an ordinary person I would hope for a greater example of understanding and humility from many within its hallowed halls.

I suppose I have been inspired to write this this evening because of a phrase written by Philip North and whichever view you hold on any of the arguments, I think it says an awful lot :

“If as Christians,we can’t relate to each other within the bounds of love, how can we presume to transform a nation in the name of Christ?”

To me, if the Church can’t get this right, what hope is there for the rest of us?

Thanks for reading this and sorry to be a bit grumpy,

Donna.

Leave a Reply

